Planning a trip to Turkey!

This morning I woke up before nine (which is usually absurd for a Sunday morning) to Skype with Kat and Sibylle and make some plans for our trip to Turkey. We’ll be sticking in + around Istanbul (pays + province), instead of trying to extend ourselves down the whole of the western coastline. I doubt we could make it too far south anyways, with missiles headed toward the border with Syria.*

I do hope we can make it to see some of the Black Sea coastline. But Istanbul is on the water – straddling it, even – so I’m sure I’ll be astounded by everything anyways.

I’ll start making lists. I’m excited. I hope the dude with a potentially Chinese/Korean last name on my curling team (we haven’t met yet) doesn’t have to take a game off for the (lunar) new year. It would give me an extra day in Turkey. I’ll see what the schedule is like and then I can book my flights.

Posted from WordPress for Android

* My friend L and her husband have spent the last several months in Jordan studying Arabic. It must be so… iunno, different/awful to be so close to civil war, when you’ve grown up in relative security. I wonder how Turkey will feel. L has roots in Syria and her fam is quite involved in the Syrian community in the GTA, and I think she’s been involved in relief efforts since moving to Amman, so it must be all the more difficult.

When I was dreaming up the ~gap year that constitutes the first year of this blog, I’d made hypothetical plans to study in Damascus for a semester (you know, between a hypothetical internship in Europe and a semester in China… a girl can dream, until the economy falls out). I had no idea what it was like under Assad. And now it’s like this.

My short reference to the war and the violence followed by [Ooer! Black Sea!] reminds me of something I once heard on RNW. I’ll find the clip later.**

** Later… from the now defunct =( The State We’re In, host Jonathan Groubert interviews Eimear O’Callaghan, who uncovered her diary from her teenage years, growing up during the Troubles, in “Bloody Sunday diary.”



							
															
							
						

One comment

  1. turkischland · · Reply

    Reblogged this on turkischland.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

