Having my temperature taken

Right now I’m sitting in the lobby of my hostel with a thermometer in my underarm (which I haven’t done before, but appreciate, because it’s probably the least invasive) for seven minutes – time to kill to write. I’ve been having my temperature taken twice a day since Friday night when I picked up my train ticket to Harbin this weekend (except for yesterday, which I willfully neglected because I was super exhausted and didn’t have anyone to kill the time with). I asked why, and they said it was to have my temperature taken. I expect it’s to defend the high-traffic train stations from H1N1, which makes sense, I guess. But when I tried to figure the 7-10 day incubation period with the taking of temperature in advance of taking the train, it made a little less sense. O well.

On that note, my temperature has been consistently rather low this past week. The front desk staff are reading about 34° or 35°C each time. That can’t be healthy. Today they even laughed.

Leave a comment